San Antonio organizations Response and List of Demands on City & CPS Energy for Just Climate & COVID Recovery

Date(s)
-

A community webinar convening community leaders, artists, environmental, public health and housing advocates to discuss how environmental justice principles can help build a more equitable San Antonio a year after San Antonio’s City Council adopted the San Antonio Climate Action and Adaptation Plan. 

Over 23 organizations are calling for 5 demands of the San Antonio City Council to demand CPS energy become a central part of solutions for structural inequality as the city recovers from COVID-19. 

Participants will discuss and respond to needs to eliminate the harms created by structural inequities, energy policy, and the food access, while maximizing the opportunities CPS Energy can bring to housing security, public health, and jobs in a comprehensive and just COVID-19 recovery. 

WHEN:

Saturday, October 24, 2020  at 2:00 PM CT/ 3:00 PM ET - 5:00 PM CT/ 6:00 PM ET

DIAL-IN:

Register:  
sc.org/SAjustrecovery
 

WHO:
Diana Lopez, Southwest Workers Union

Doug Melnick, COSA Office of Sustainability

Maria Lopez-Nuñez, Ironbound Community Corporation (NJ)

Greg Harman, Sierra Club

Cris Eugster, CPS Energy

Jovanna Lopez, Food Policy Council

Meredith McGuire, Professor Emerita

Alfred Montoya, Trinity University

Jovanna Lopez, SA Food Policy Council

Kari Fulton, Climate Justice Alliance (DC)

Marisol Cortez, Author, 'Luz at Midnight'
 

BACKGROUND:

Community members and 23 community organizations have called for: 

  • End the Policy of utility disconnections for most vulnerable families--permanently

  • Prioritize home improvement and rooftop solar (and jobs) in historically neglected communities.

  • No Rate Increases Until Our Utility Rate Structure is Fair

  • Develop Community-Driven Resource Planning

  • Shut Down the Spruce Coal Plant by 2030