Fernando Reyes Named VIA Board of Trustees Chair

Submitted by rudyarispe on December 16, 2020 - 4:17pm

Local businessman Fernando Reyes has been elected Chair of the VIA Board of Trustees and will begin his term Jan. 1, 2021 through Dec. 31, 2022.

Reyes succeeds Hope Andrade, former Texas secretary of state, who was first elected to the Board in the 1990s and twice served as its chair, most recently seated in February 2020. She is credited with helping lead VIA through the recent approval of ATD Proposition A, which will increase funding for public transit use and help support the Keep SA Moving Plan.

Fernando Reyes named VIA Chairman

“We thank Chair Andrade for leading us through many years and challenges, with wisdom and grace, "VIA President and CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt said. "In particular, we appreciate her steadfast leadership in the past year—during which she proved instrumental in the success of ATD Proposition A as we step into the Decade of Mobility she helped envision.”

Arndt added that VIA looks forward to working with Reyes "to keep San Antonio moving on a positive path, with continued support from City and County leaders, the Board of Trustees, and the community.”

A native of the South Side, Reyes has served as Chairman of the Board for the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, President of the San Antonio Fiesta Commission, Rey Feo LX and Treasurer for the Rey Feo Consejo Educational Foundation, and served the Boards of St. Mary’s University, San Antonio Parks Foundation, the Bexar County Performing Arts Center Foundation, World Affairs Council of San Antonio, and the San Antonio Area Foundation.

 He recently served as treasurer of the Vote Yes for Transit campaign in support of ATD Proposition A that was approved by voters on Nov. 3, 2020.

“I’m looking forward to beginning the new year and my work with the dynamic VIA Board and building the momentum created by Hope Andrade’s leadership and vision for the future of mobility in our region,” Reyes said. “Transportation is an essential service and serves a critical need in our community. My goal is to ensure that VIA and public transit continue to be part of our city’s success story.”

Before entering private business, Reyes worked in the federal government, including at the Department of Defense and Housing and Urban Development. He has also served on the Harlandale Education Foundation, the Bexar County Community Arenas Board, and numerous others.

He currently serves as the chair of Reyes Automotive Group II and Reyes AmTex Automotive, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas, Inc. Tier One suppliers. He also established Reyes Development and Reyes Properties that are involved in land development and commercial real estate acquisition. His most recent endeavor is Site B Data Services LLC., a collocation center offering a variety of technological support for small- to medium-sized businesses.

VIA Board members are appointed for two-year terms. Trustees nominate and elect a chair every two years or when the seat becomes available and can select candidates from among Board members or members of the public, often collaborating with the sitting Mayor and County Judge to select a candidate to lead the 11-member Board.