Fiesta San Antonio Commission Announces 2020-21 Officers

Submitted by rudyarispe on July 3, 2020 - 11:40am

Although Fiesta was cancelled this year because of the pandemic, the Fiesta San Antonio Commission has been busy tending to other business affairs and has elected officers for 2020-21.   

Rey Feo LXII Baltazar (Walter) Serna Jr. of the Law Offices of Serna & Serna has been named president. Serna has previously served as treasurer, vice president, senior vice president and most recently as president-elect of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission.

Walter Serna

“As we prepare for the 130th Fiesta San Antonio next April, I am honored to serve with this outstanding team of officers,” Serna said in a statement. “These unusual times only accentuate how important Fiesta is to all of San Antonio – even more than the $340 million economic impact. It’s how we come together every year to celebrate what we have in common and what makes us different.”

In addition to Serna as president, the following officers were elected to serve one-year terms beginning July 1 and ending May 31, 2021:

President-Elect: Retired Col. Jon Fristoe retired from the U.S. Army at the rank of colonel in 2015 and is cofounder of Double Eagle Innovations, LLC. Fristoe joined the Fiesta San Antonio Commission in 2013 and is now a lifetime member who has served as elected commissioner, secretary, vice president and senior vice president, as well as chair of the accreditation, technology, membership, Fiesta Verde, and bylaws committees.

Senior Vice President: John Meyer most recently served as Commission Vice President and also served as presidential appointee to the Fiesta Commission Executive Committee for Fiesta 2018, as chair of the Host Committee in 2019, and as an elected commissioner. He has held various leadership roles as a member of the Texas Cavaliers, the Order of the Alamo and the San Antonio German Club, and served as Night Aide to King Antonio in 2011.

Vice President: Roger O. Flores is a former City of San Antonio District 1 Councilman currently serving as secretary of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission. He is a member of the Texas Cavaliers and the Rey Feo

Consejo Educational Foundation. Roger’s father, Roger Flores, was president of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission in 1989, and his mother, Vangie Flores, served as president in 2012. 

Vice President: Richard Sparr of the Sparr Law Firm was King Antonio for Fiesta 2018. He most recently served as Fiesta San Antonio Commission treasurer. 

Secretary: Ferne Burney is the outgoing president of The Woman’s Club of San Antonio, one of the founding participating member organizations of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission, and has represented the Woman’s Club on the Fiesta Commission Executive Committee for the past two years. 

Treasurer: David Christian, partner in the law firm of Casillas and Christian, most recently served as elected commissioner of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission. He is a member of the Texas Cavaliers and has served on the boards of the Rey Feo Consejo Educational Foundation and Brooks Development Authority.  

The Fiesta Commission membership has also selected 10 new Elected Commissioners, each with years of service to Fiesta-related organizations, to serve three-year terms ending in May 2023:

• Irma Iris Duran de Rodriguez

• Everett Fly

• Charlie Garza

• Dennis Gutzman

• Elizabeth M. Jauer

• Holly Jones

• Deborah Long-Shirley

• Jim Mery

• Mari Sandoval

• Denise Thieme

The 2020 Fiesta San Antonio will take place November 5-15, 2020, and Fiesta 2021 is April 15-25, 2021. For more information, please visit: